Thursday, 19 November 2015

My Summer Reads

I thought I'd catch you up with the books I've been devouring since I last did a 10 things post. Whatever else has got in the way or changed this summer I've still found time to read and I know some of the most popular items in my 10 things posts were the book bits. (I have read quite a few books that this might need to be a two part post!)

Reading 

Post Amsterdam trip I switched from Amsterdam centric reading to thrillers and first up was Blacklands by Belinda Bauer - a story about a boy who's family had been devastated when his Uncle had gone missing as a child. The presumed victim of a serial killer who had never revealed that he'd done that particular abduction - let alone confirmed he'd murdered and buried the lad on the moors with his other victims. Years later the victims nephew decides he could mend his broken family if he could find out where his uncles body was and that's when things get interesting.

Next up was Divergent by Veronica Roth.  I haven't seen the film and I haven't read The Hunger Games either. This book is a teen-aimed novel much in the vein of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner (which I have also read.) I found it quite a page turner and I liked the premise that in the future civilised society is split into groups according to their strengths. To be Divergent means you could fit into multiple sects of society and that is something seen as a threat. I suspect if you liked The Hunger Games you'd like this. Although I really should read the Hunger Games myself.

A detective thriller up next: Under a Silent Moon by Elizabeth Haynes. I was completely underwhelmed by this. Although one of the best thrillers I've read in ages was her first book: Into The Darkest Corner. I think she's a better thriller writer than detective writer and I'm not sure I'll bother to read any more in this series of books.

Another thriller was finished next and unlike all the other books this was not on my kindle: A Simple Act of Violence by R J Ellory. As I've mentioned before I mainly read paperbacks in the bath these days and I found myself taking long bubble baths just to read more of this page turner. Yes, it's about a serial killer, but the most chilling aspects of this story are concerned in government conspiracy's at the highest level. Compelling and when I passed it on to my brother he said it was one of the best thrillers he'd read in a long while and wants to read more by R J Ellory.

Still in thriller mode I read: A Tap on The Window by Linwood Barclay. It was a kindle special offer of all of 99p and this is an author that Catherine had recommended previously via instagram. A middle aged man gives a lift to a teenage girl one night and when she winds up missing and her best friend dead, it implicates the man in a mystery with lots of twists and turns. Another thriller where I was completely hooked.
I'm too tired to read in bed even

The next bath time read was a dusty old hardback I'd picked up at a jumble sale years ago. The Franchise Affair by Jospehine Tey.  I'd seen the old black and white movie, although so long ago that I couldn't remember all the plot, which was good as I could read the book without a lot of prior knowledge. The mother and daughter owners or The Franchise - an old house at the edge of the village, are accused of kidnapping a teenage girl and holding her captive as a slave until she manages to escape. A scandal ensues and as the ladies reputation is shredded and they face imprisonment, a local provincial lawyer takes on the task of proving them innocent. I enjoyed the gentle style of it a lot and will look out for other books by this author.

Up next was a book often on recent book lists as a must read: Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel. If you liked The Road by Cormac McCarthy you may well like this too.  Yes, it's a post apocalyptic novel.  But probably one of the most gentle and poignant ones I've ever read.

Outbreak by Robin Cook was the bath time read. Ironic that at one point I was reading a book about a viral outbreak in the bath, whilst reading Station Eleven on my kindle - which happened to follow what happened after the Georgia Flu killed most people on the planet.  It was slightly different to what I remember of the film and a bit dated. However, it seemed strangely relevant in the light of the Ebola outbreak earlier in the year.

I think that's enough for this post. I'll be back next time with my Autumn reads.


3 comments:

  1. The only one of these I have read is Divergent, I did enjoy this series. I try to read books that my teenagers are reading to keep up to date with them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Not read any of those but they sound interesting....I like getting recommendations of new authors to try. Happy Reading xxx

    ReplyDelete
  3. Kartal Masajsalonu
    Pendik MasajSalonu
    istanbul anadolu yakası, avrupa yakası, masaj salonlarımız 7/24 hizmetinizde

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I read every single one and love hearing what you have to say. I do my best to reply to every comment. Although sometimes that's not possible. :-)